6304 Minnesota Ave
St. Louis, MO 63111
Enjoy a Blues Over the Bluffs concert with Kingdom Brothers at the Sts. Mary and Joseph Chapel in south St. Louis on Saturday, August 14. Sponsored by Saint Stephen Protomartyr Parish, Kingdom Brothers take the stage, overlooking the Mississippi, at 6 p.m, performing their unique variety of blues and gospel music, including popular songs from their latest album, Times Hard.
This historic Parish and the Village of Carondelet (now part of St Louis Missouri) were founded and established in 1767. Carondelet became a Town in 1832 and parish had its first resident pastor. In 1841 the name of the parish of Our Lady of Mount Carmel and St. Joseph of the Angels was changed to simply Sts.Mary and Joseph.
Carondelet became a City in 1851 and was incorporated into the City of St Louis in 1870.
There are other Churches in the Carondelet area today. However,the original site designated for church purposes in 1767 has been the continuous site for four church buildings of Sts. Mary and Joseph.
There was a log chapel in 1818. A stone church in 1835 and a larger brick church in 1859.
The present beautiful lannon stone church was dedicated in 1941.